GDPR Compliance

More information on the WEEE Directive

The European Council introduced the Waste Electrical and Electronic Equipment (WEEE) Directive in 2002 to address the environmental impacts of unwanted electrical and electronic equipment at end-of-life disposal.

The WEEE directive sets a total of 10 categories of WEEE for reporting purposes.

  • Large household appliances
  • Small household appliances
  • IT and telecommunications equipment
  • Consumer equipment
  • Lighting equipment
  • Electrical and electronic tools
  • Toys, leisure and sports equipment
  • Medical devices
  • Monitoring and control instruments
  • Automatic dispensers

Prior to the implementation of the WEEE directive in the UK, waste electronic and electrical equipment was disposed of in the household (municipal) waste stream. However, exclusions apply to electrical and electronic equipment that are deemed hazardous. Hazardous electronic wastes comprise:

  • Uninterruptable power supplies, lead-acid batteries
  • Cathode ray tubes (televisions, computer monitors)
  • Fluorescent tubes, backlights to laptop screens, thin-film transistors
  • Electrical/electronic equipment containing polychlorinated biphenyl (PCB)
  • Fridges and freezers

A completed hazardous waste consignment note must accompany hazardous waste when moved from any premises. If your ITAD partner do not provide you with this upon collection, then their service is not legitimate.